Praise

by rachelshane

Okay, random life occurrences to get me to my revelation today.

Last week I got my wisdom teeth removed. Apparently a nerve was damaged during my surgery, and now the right bottom half of my lip to my chin is numb. The nerve may take weeks, months, or never heal. I am hopeful that it will heal, but today I realized, it might not. Forever part of my face may be numb.

I met with my friend for coffee. One of the first things he tells me is, “You’re getting tan, praise God.” I laughed. Then we sat outside, and he moves so he can be in direct sunlight. He responds to his action saying, “I want to get tan, praise the Lord”. My dear friend keeps praising God for the opportunity to get tan.

I was online and stumbled upon this website, www.prayfordaisy.com. This is the blog of a 7-year-old girl who just got diagnosed with cancer for the 3rd time. She lives in a Christian family; her father actually is the pastor of a huge church in California.

My friend got in a serious car accident with 4 youth group girls in her truck. Everyone was okay. She praised the Lord for their safety.

Okay, through all of these things, through terrible things, through irrelevant things, through miracles, we should always be giving praise to God. And not only we should be giving praise to God in any situation, I think we can even give praise to God FOR the situation.

James 1:17 says, “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.” Simply, every good thing in our life came from God. But our definition of “good” is different than God’s. So even things that we don’t see as good, can still come from God, because it may actually be good for reasons we don’t see. And we should praise God for everything he gives us.

James 1:2-4 says, “Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be mature and complete, lacking in nothing.” It is a challenging word, to claim joy, not in, but for difficult times. In every situation, we should praise God for the opportunity to become more like him.

Romans 8:28 says, “And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.” It doesn’t say he will work to bless us with continually happy things. He says no matter what, if you love me, I am going to pull good out of everything. And we should praise God for that promise.

So when my friend was still alive from a car accident, it was right to praise God. If they all would have been killed, it would have been appropriate to praise God for their lives, and how their legacy would now change the world.

It is right to praise God for allowing a precious girl to have cancer. It is a terrible thing in our eyes, but the fruit of maturation in faith in the family and the others around them may be priceless. God is doing good through her terrible situation, no doubt. We should praise him for that.

It is appropriate to praise God for silly things, such as getting tan. Why not praise God for creating the sun to be able to change our skin color, on top of the hundreds of other purposes it has.

I want to praise God for making my face numb, even if it may be that way till I get my new, glorified body. Today I am learning how I cared too much about my face. It is just my face. It was, and still is perfectly made. And my face, no matter what condition, should never decrease my amount of praise to God.

