Silence.

by rachelshane

I have a confession, or more so, a question.

I have not brushed my hair once this week. I have taken a shower every day this week, and once I get out I throw up my hair into a messy bun.

Lazy, yes. I justify my actions because I will not be able to do this in a few months, since it will be too cold outside and I will have to dry my hair.

But seriously, this has been everyday.

Girls, do you have these weeks of not paying attention at all to hair? How often to you actually brush your hair?

 

Anyways.

So it is labor day weekend, and my parents went up north, my single friends are out of town and my married friends are on double dates or with family.  So, I have been spending some time alone.  It has been mainly fine because I have had so much work to catch up on anyways, but I am reminded today of how uncomfortable I am with silence sometimes.  Last night I had a movie on. Today I have been listening to music, or playing music, trying to have noise keep me company.  About an hour ago (9 pm) I hit this point where I was sick of music so I called a friend and chatted for a half an hour, creating other noise.

Then I went in my room, trying to figure out how to make noise. I was going to put on a sermon.  But then I realized I hadn’t read my Bible yet, so I went and did that, which I usually try to do in silence to not be distracted. I was so uncomfortable with the silence though that I started reading out loud.

Mother Teresa said, “We need to find God, and he cannot be found in noise and restlessness. God is a friend of the silence. See how nature – trees, flowers, grass – grows in silence; the stars, the moon and the sun, how they move in silence. We need silence to be able to touch souls”.

Silence can be uncomfortable. But it is a necessary spiritual discipline.  I am probably guilty of letting noise cover God’s voice too often. And that is not okay.

And, it is good to take time in silence to ask God if there are activities in our life that are honestly just distractions of what we really should be doing.  Sometimes when we just keep going in life and never stop, we end up filling our time with what we desire to do, and maybe not what He had planned.

So I am going to enjoy the rest of the night, and probably next couple of days, in solitude. I am excited to hear His voice, and be changed by Him in the quiet.

