Variety

by rachelshane

Music is great because no two people can make any song sound exactly the same. Each time a person plays a song, it is different from anybody else.  Some are better than others, but no one could truly say which version of the song would be the best.  My piano teacher told me something great today; she said, “Rachel, no one can play a song perfectly until they get to heaven.” How true is that?

Anyways, I have lately been youtube-ing some of my favorite songs and just listening to different versions.  I like to sit and try to guess why the artist changed the original to their new rendition of the song.  Some people remake the songs, and it becomes my favourite over the original.  But one can truly never “dis” the creator.  If it wasn’t for them, there would be no song.

Anyways, I wanted to share with you some sweet versions of one song.  This song is called “In Christ Alone”. It is fairly common among Christians from being played in many churches and also on the radio.  The song is respected by so many, because usually when played, it almost feels as though it were a hymn written in the 1700’s. The song was actually written in 2002.  People of all ages seem to enjoy this song, which is rare in Christian music today.

I first fell in love with this song with this version I heard on the radio.  I really respect Adie Camp. She is an incredible musician.

Adam Young from Owl City’s version is making this song popular again.  I was really surprised the first time I heard this.  This song is so stripped and simple compared to most of his other music.  I am really happy that he recorded this though.

My new favourite is Bethany Dillon and Matt Hammitt’s version.  And no, it is not because Bethany Dillon is one of my favorite artists.  And yes, I truly hate the terrible guitar tone in the very beginning. But after the first minute I can’t help my head bobbing and smiling. I encourage you to give this version a shot.

And then there is just simply the song in worship.  With people passionately singing and their hearts meaning every word.  I led this song at the last “Remedy” at Concordia College. I am excited to share this with you.  I blogged about the Remedy long ago, but this obviously shares a taste of what it felt like.  The only lights you see where the piano and violin’s players for their music stand (and sadly you can’t even hear the piano player in this recording). We kept the room black so hopefully no one and nothing could be a distraction.  The powerpoint machine we had to use that night was a little sketchy, and we were in a gym, and there was a huge pole along the side of the wall, so that is why the powerpoint flashes, and looks strange.  There is nothing great about this performance (we NEVER practiced), but that wasn’t the point. The great thing about this recording is you feel and can hear people’s excitement in the song. And I used a free version of a program to condense it and put it up here, so that is why there is the huge #wondershare thing on it. Good thing there isn’t much to see anyways.

My favourite lines –

No guilt in life, no fear in death

This is the power of Christ in me

From life’s first cry to final breath

Jesus commands my destiny 

