Jesus

by rachelshane

People take the name of Jesus in vain all too much.  I feel as though some may even snicker just because I have a blog titled “Jesus”.  He is still today, 2000 years after living on earth, probably has the most mocked name on the planet.

I have been praying for the opportunity to talk about Jesus at one of my jobs.

Some of those prayers were answered this week.

One woman, old enough to be my mom, insists that I pray that she gets to go to heaven.  I keep telling her that she can know without a doubt, that she just needs to accept Jesus as her Savior, but she continually says, “I know, I know what Jesus means. But I have done A LOT of bad stuff, and I just really need your extra prayer cause I don’t know if I will get in.”

She doesn’t understand what the life and sacrifice of Jesus means.

Another woman, also old enough to be my mother, is an atheist.  She claims that this world doesn’t make sense with God in it.  She doesn’t understand why there would be so much suffering in the world if God was “good”.  She says if God existed there should be no hurricanes or natural disasters.  She also lost her 17 year old son, so I am sure that plays in to her feelings towards suffering in the world.  She promises me she has read the whole Bible, but has done little research to what I concur.  She said Jesus probably existed in real life, but there is no proof that he died/came back to life.

She is uninformed on the history of Jesus, and I am sure would be astounded by how trustworthy the Bible is as an historical artifact. She also has a very common view of suffering in the world, but will not blame God, the world, Satan or people for it.

Another, old enough to be my grandma, claims that everyone has their own theory about how the world will end (to her, that issue is all that really matters).  I think Jesus will come back, the Mayans believe the world will end in 2012, and others in a few days.  All of us can’t be right so none of us are.  She is betting that an astroid comes and kills us any day now.

She doesn’t have very good logic, and sees Jesus as just being another option to ending this painful life.

Another girl that I work with is 25 years old. She did not grow up in a Christian home, but in somewhat of a gang. I talked to her today, and I told her, “All I really want you to know is how much God loves you, because I think that would change your life”.  She said, “Rach, I know God and Jesus loves me.”  Then I told her, “No you don’t, because I think if you really understood that someone loved you so much that they died for you, I think it would change your life a bit.” We talked about how God doesn’t impact her life one bit, but she dropped the subject and went back to work.

She doesn’t know Jesus is real.

2nd Corinthians 2:15-17 says, “Our lives are a Christ-like fragrance rising up to God. But this fragrance is perceived differently by those who are being saved and by those who are perishing.  To those who are perishing, we are a dreadful smell of death and doom. But to those who are being saved, we are a life-giving perfume.”

I can tangibly feel this verse, and it breaks my heart. I see so many people that I love, but the only thing that can save them smells like death to them.  This is so oxymoronic to me. How can life smell like death to them? And this life-giving fragrance smells so bad to them that they cringe, yell, and run away from it.

I have done an exercise this week that I wrote about a few blogs ago.  Every room I am in, I literally picture Jesus in the room. I imagine looking at his face, and I imagine the other person being able to see Jesus too. Would I not introduce my friend to Jesus? Would I just let my favorite person sit there unnoticed? NO! I would talk about Him day and night and how great He is, and insist that they know His whole story and what He thinks about them.  Seriously! When my colleagues bring in their husbands or kids, all they do is talk about them.  Why would I not talk about someone greater who is there, but also IN me?

I refuse to be silent about Him anymore.  I will no longer say it is difficult to speak truth and share the name of Jesus to people. It is not.  I don’t want to disguise this fragrance reeking off my life as being a nice person or something, because that would be lying.

Maybe they will get sick of the smell, and try to find a way to really get rid of it, which would be to change the smell (they can’t run away from the fragrance coming from me cause they work with me:) ). And the only way to do that, is to really understand what the smell is, and once they figure out what the smell truly is, perhaps it will change to a beautiful fragrance for them.

