Hope

by rachelshane

I have been dwelling on hope lately.

Working in ministry, one of the main jobs I get privileged to do is walk with people through storms in their life.  This year I have also had a fair share of my own storms, so dwelling on hope has been so good for me too.  This is what hope is for – the tough times in life.

I love Hebrews 6:19 – “We have this hope, as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure.”

This is my favorite picture of hope.  Imagine a huge ship, with a ginormous anchor sticking it to the bottom of the ocean. No matter what storm comes, that ship isn’t gonna move much, because that is what anchors do!  Because of my hope in God, no matter what storms come in life, I will not be moved.

Hebrews 10:23 states “Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful.” 

This is also great. No matter what storms come, we never have to doubt who we hope in. If our hope is in the Lord, He is faithful to His promises.  He promises to never leave us nor forsake us.  What a beautiful promise this is.  You know how if little kids are scared of something, maybe of the dark, when do they feel most at ease? When their parent is right next to them.  No matter what difficult thing we go through, our Father is always next to us, and He promises to never leave us. And we can have peace through that.

I received this connection through my Pastor, but below is one of the greatest testimonies of hope in the Bible.  In 2nd Kings 25 the Babylonians put Jerusalem under siege until everyone starved and then God’s holy temple was destroyed. Basically this was the worst thing imaginable. I am willing to bet none of us have experienced something that bad in life. Go read it.

From this event the book of Lamentations was written by Jeremiah.  He witnessed this event in 2nd Kings 25.  It is a sad book obviously, but in Lamentations 3:20-24 Jeremiah writes this:

I will never forget this awful time, as I grieve over my loss. Yet I still dare to hope when I remember this: The faithful love of the Lord never ends! His mercies never cease. Great is His faithfulness; His mercies begin afresh each morning. I say to myself, “The Lord is my inheritance, therefore, I will hope in Him!”  

Let’s all memorize that.

And, I am pumped because Renovation Church is singing this song this Sunday! And it is perfect for this post.

I gotta wake up in 4 hours. What am I doing.

