At my weakest

by rachelshane

Today has been the worst day ever. Warning – this is a whiny blog. Don’t read it if you don’t wanna feel bad for me.

Actually it started last night when I was working at the hospital.  I worked until 11:30 p.m. and around 9 p.m. my stomach started hurting.  I immediately thought it was from all the chocolate I ate during that shift (people always give me chocolate there!!), but it didn’t super make sense because I had stopped eating chocolate at 7 p.m. I told one of my coworkers I wasn’t feeling well, but I had to wait until 11 p.m. to leave because of my job.  What did he recommend? Why he gave me more chocolate. No worries, I didn’t eat it.

I went home and tried falling asleep, like anyone would.

This did not happen.

I do say that the worst experience in the world may be when you are trying to sleep, but cannot because you are too sick.  All you do is want to conk out and feel no more pain, but your stupid pain keeps you awake. The irony.

Finally at 3:30 a.m. everything that was hurting in my stomach projected out of my mouth. As I was puking, I was thinking, how gross. Also I was trying to remember the last time I puked. Maybe high school? Maybe? But I am not a puker.

After that experience, I was able to fall asleep for about an hour, but then woke up again to a painful stomach.  When I am sick, I feel like I am dying, and kind of act like it too.

Woke up at 7 a.m. and cancelled my dentist appointment. I wonder if they have had people puke on them when they stick their fingers in someone’s mouth. Probably.

Then I had to bring my dad to the hospital, because he had an operation today and he would not be able to drive home.  This was the worst experience ever.  We get there and I am feeling okay, but not bad. Then I start having to go to the bathroom. That’s right, I will not even give you details, other then I went to the bathroom 6 times in one hour.

After my Dad’s operation, they invited me to go see him. As I walked in, there was a huge sign next to me saying, “If you are ill don’t visit patients”. I knew that was me, but seriously, I am going to go see my dad.  I bet no one listens to that rule.  I see my dad and then we have to wait for about a half an hour for his loopy meds to wear off.  In that half an hour I walked out of the room gaging twice.  My body was trying to hurl everything out of my stomach continually, but nothing was left in it.

I went back and forth between feeling all sweaty and warm, and then goosebumps from chills. I didn’t think I was going to be able to drive us home. I was scared about puking more.

This whole time I am just being so upset at my body. Why am I sick on a Wednesday? Today is youth group day.  There are only a few left.  I want to see all my students. I am so upset. All my other leaders work until 4:30 today so it’s not like I can ask them to come up with a message.

So they are having game night without me. They will probably wish I am sick every Wednesday.

Moral of the story – stomach flu sucks.

And whenever I am sick I think of the verse “For when I am weak, then I am strong.” -2nd Corinthians 12:10.  Am I taking this out of context? Completely. But anyways, I sat in my bed for a while and was praying, “God, show me your strength, make me better, you are in me and I wanna be strong right now.”  He has not given me strength yet, but thankfully, He has given me a strong mother. She is making me soup now.

Pray it stays in my stomach.

