Worthy

by rachelshane

Philippians 1:27 says “Whatever happens, conduct yourselves in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ. Then, whether I come and see you or only hear about you in my absence, I will know that you stand firm in one Spirit, striving together as one for the faith of the gospel”.

I have been praying and asking God what a life worthy of the gospel of Christ actually looks like.

I think a basic answer is quite simple.  The gospel is basically the life of Jesus, and Him laying down His life for us; so a life worthy, that is, equal, would be for us to do the same.

This theory in practice? SO difficult.

Lately I have been praying over everything I am doing in my life, asking God if it is something I am selfishly doing for myself, or if each thing I am devoting time to is something that He really wants me to do.  This is also a challenge because I have been trying to not let other people’s ideologies come into my mind.  Usually when I tell people about my work situation, they tell me I work too much and I need to quit something. But is this what God wants me to do? I pray and eventually He wants me to quit some of them, but now is not the time.

Another image that helps me is this: every job I am at, every activity I have been doing, I have been asking myself, “If Jesus came back right now, would I want Him to come back to me doing this?”  There have been some selfish things in my life where I know I would probably feel ashamed of if He came back while I was doing them.  Feeling this way, I have been working towards quitting those things.

This verse is so great. The second part that Paul says is, “Then, whether I come and see you or only hear about you in my absence, I will know that you stand firm in one Spirit, striving together as one for the faith of the gospel”.  How good of a picture is this.

I do have friends who live far away, and if they were to hear from one of my colleagues at the hospital or one of my friends in the cities, what would they say about my life and what I am doing? Would they say I am stressed out or selfishly seeking happiness for myself? I hope not! I hope they would say that in every situation I am in, whether working or hanging with friends, I am diligently seeking ways to make the gospel of Christ known.

Also I have been asking myself, “Am I daily trying to make the gospel known on my own, or am I using the body of Christ fully?” When Jesus sent the disciples off, he sent them in groups of two often.  Jesus knew that we could do more if we worked together!  I have been trying to remember that I am only one part of the body, and I will be much more productive in anything I do for His name if I do with with the other gifted brothers and sisters of Christ around me!

I don’t think my life is worthy of the gospel of Christ yet, nor may it ever be, but daily I will seek to live a life worthy of the sacrifice that was made for me.

In simplicity, if He gave everything, then we should give everything in return.

