Giving

by rachelshane

Hey friends,

Giving has been on my heart for a long while. Over the past couple of years I have become a much more giving person, but I think through reading the word and probably listening to Francis Chan preach, I have been really feeling like I should give more. Do I have money? Of course not, I have loans.

But here I sit in my room, and I just got done looking at everything I have. I have so much stuff.

And then I like to think about how much stuff Jesus had. I am pretty sure he said that he didn’t even have a place to lay his head. Yep, just checked. Matthew 8:20.

Then, I was reading this amazing woman Danae Moran’s blog. I really wish I would have gotten to know her better when I was in Fargo, but I was lame and didn’t. Sad day. Anyways, she is amazing and you should read her happy blog. Her recent post had a quote from a book she is reading. Below is the quote. It is from the book “The Irresistible Revolution” by Shane Claiborne.

“You guys are all into that born again thing, which is great. We do need to be born again, since Jesus said that to a guy named Nicodemus. But if you tell me that I have to be born again to enter the kingdom of god, I can tell you that you have to sell everything you have and give it to the poor, because Jesus said that to one guy too. But I guess that’s why God invented highlighters, so we can highlight the parts we like and ignore the rest.”

Mmm. Conviction.

The act of giving is kind of simple. I sort of think that one is either a giving person, or they are not. I recently went to a meeting for employees of a large business. This meeting was meant to encourage the employees to sell more and gain more clients. This business stated they were a Christian-based company, and that they instill Christian morals into their employees and clients, but their inspiration was simply, “Get more clients, so then you can have sweet cars and travel all over the world and buy 1600 dollar shoes, and have whatever you want, and oh yeah, you can buy tickets to a game for a kid who can’t afford it.”

I would say that these people aren’t very giving.

And then there is my man, Francis Chan, who is a pastor in Southern California, who does not take income from the church he started, gave away 90% of his proceeds from his book, and instilled in his church to give 50% of their income to missions.

I would say that Francis and his church are giving people.

I would like to be a giving person. Giving in money, time, love, encouragement, friendship, knowledge, and everything. I can still give so much, even though I have many loans.

Acts 20:35 “In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive. “

Ecclesiastes 2:10-11
I denied myself nothing my eyes desired;
I refused my heart no pleasure.
My heart took delight in all my work,
and this was the reward for all my labor.

Yet when I surveyed all that my hands had done
and what I had toiled to achieve,
everything was meaningless, a chasing after the wind;
nothing was gained under the sun.

