I died…what??

by rachelshane

A verse has been basically attacking my mind. I thought I better blog.

Colossians 3:1-3 says “Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you will appear with him in glory.”

Okay, I am going to go back and forth emphasizing things. First, and my favorite part about this verse is the words, “FOR YOU DIED”. I see this as totally good.

Many people may be critical and think, so am I supposed to be a robot and have no personality and be this awkward person trying to be hidden in Christ? Um, no. First off, Jesus’ personality is way better than yours anyways, and I would personally like His personality to replace any of mine. And to understand this better, it is important to read the gospels and understand who this person is. He is the most loving, selfless, unique person ever. Way cooler than you or I am, promise. So anyways, if I am hidden in Christ, and he comes forth more than me, than what comes forth? A loving, kind, joyful, person who loves to bless others more than myself. I choose that person rather than me to shine forth. And to answer the question in the beginning of this paragraph completely, no, it does not mean for you to be a boring weird robot person.

Secondly, this whole dying thing has major benefits. Our sin is dead and no longer alive. This is so great and hit me in a story that I will write right now.

As I said in my last blog, when I moved to Fargo, I learned a lot, and especially about surrendering EVERYTHING in my life to the Lord. In high school, I did not really have that figured out. Probably still don’t, but I am a lot closer. In high school I did not have appropriate relationships with guys, and I didn’t really care. I totally led that part of my life, and when I moved, my sin was exposed, and it was a huge humbling experience. I decided to not really have any guy friends for the rest of that year. Which was a GOOD thing for me to do. Then throughout the following summer and year, I worked on having healthy relationships with guys, and for the most part, figured it out. Learned how to have DTRs, which will probably be my next blog :)

When I moved back home, guilt from my past relationships in high school hit me again. I had been walking in freedom with relationships for a long while, and then boom, the wounds of my sin came upon me so fresh in my heart once again.

Thankfully the Lord spoke to me threw this verse and some sweet people.

The truth is, I was that person, who hurt people a lot, but that person DIED a LONG time ago.

One of my prophetic friends came up to me during a prayer night and told me, “I see you in your car, continually looking in your back mirror, and God wants to rip that mirror off.”

Friends, our past life is gone and dead. Sin from 10 years ago and 10 minutes ago. Continually my sin is dying, and being replaced with LIFE. We don’t need to continually be looking back. It is good to look back, learn how to change, and move on.

I am sure I read this in psalms, but now I can only think of the lyrics from the Shane and Shane song “I’m Alive”, but the chorus (and song) is so good. The words are “You have resurrected my heart from the grave, and I’m alive”.

So really, I was dead either way, but now, I am alive.

The verses in that song come from Galatians 2:20 – “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

So another truth, our life is TOTALLY worth giving up for Jesus. Not only the fact that we reap much, but solely that He is so worthy of our lives. When you get to know Jesus, and just who He is, He is totally worth surrendering everything for. We all surrender our lives to something – perhaps relationships or money or cooking or video games. I think once you know who Jesus is, and even if there was no benefit to us, (which there is), it makes sense to say, “okay, You can have my time and devotion, you are so good and so worthy of it just because of who You are.” Because Jesus is better than relationships, better than cooking, better than anything.

There is even so much more to the verse above, but I will hold for later. I think I am already getting sidetracked and will stop.

